NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Wawayanda Salmon Help - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing Post all your fresh water topics on this board

Old 07-27-2016, 08:49 AM
NJFishing.com Member

Default Wawayanda Salmon Help

Hi all,
Been following this forum for awhile, but this is my first time posting. I'm looking to see if anyone is willing to give up any advice on salmon fishing wawayanda. I've been there a couple times now, and have had no luck with salmon. I know where the two holes are, but any advice on how to fish them, best time of day, what lure/bait to use, anything would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
Old 07-27-2016, 09:10 AM
NJFishing.com Ambassador

Default Re: Wawayanda Salmon Help

Welcome Struck!

Went there last weekend and picked up a few in the back hole. I was trolling spinner baits, wobblers and spoons about 15-20ft down for a few hours with no luck. I'm not sure when they start hitting lures again, but then I switched to herring, drifting in 85ft with my line down about 20ft and that's when I started landing fish. Weird how they were up so high that day, it was about 95 degrees out.

Need to go to the local tackle shop, get live herring and ask how deep they are on that day. I would also invest in some slip bobbers to try a few lines at different depths until you find them.

I will be going back last weekend of September or fist in October (weather pending). I am going to try to slow troll the live herring as well.

Best of luck and tight lines!
Old 07-27-2016, 09:23 AM
NJFishing.com Old Salt