NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Ice fishing and Pond Hockey - a perfect combo? - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing Post all your fresh water topics on this board

Old 12-30-2017, 12:31 AM
NJFishing.com Ambassador

Default Ice fishing and Pond Hockey - a perfect combo?

I have very little ice fishing experience (i.e. none) but I was out playing some pond hockey today at a local spot in Cranford (Union County) and got to thinking it could be a good was to pass the time between watching for tip up flags.

Do any of you ice fishing guys play (or used to play) hockey? Since hockey and fishing are pretty much my two favorite pastimes I thought it would be cool to combine the two. Granted I don’t know the logistics of ice fishing so maybe this just isn’t feasible but I would love to learn the basics of ice fishing from someone in the know so if anyone interested in a newbie tagging along and also maybe hitting a puck around let me know. I can supply a goal, pucks, and sticks (if you are lefty). I don’t have any tip-ups but I do have a ice fishing jigging rod (never used). Plenty of safe ice here in Union County so I would imagine the same is true at the ice fishing spots further north. Let me know if anyone is interested, I am free all day today (Sat 12-30). Otherwise I will be getting schooled by high school kids all day playing hockey on the back lake in Nomahegan.
Old 12-30-2017, 08:22 AM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Default Re: Ice fishing and Pond Hockey - a perfect combo?