NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

New to NJ. Where to Fish? - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing Post all your fresh water topics on this board

Old 12-14-2018, 07:44 PM
NJFishing.com Member

Default New to NJ. Where to Fish?

Hello All,

I'm new to NJ. I just picked up a tracker pro team 165. It has a 40hp engine and what I'm finding is the lakes around me are electric only or 9.9hp and below. I'm located in Matawan. I am looking for recommendations where I can take my boat.

Another question is lake lafferts is basically my backyard does anyone know if I can take my boat in there if the engine is up and I use the trolling motor only? I've call Matawan town hall a bunch of times left several messages and getting no responses. Next plan is to stop in when I get a chance.

Thanks
Old 12-14-2018, 08:08 PM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Default Re: New to NJ. Where to Fish?

https://www.state.nj.us/dep/fgw/fishplc.htm

You will have to drive north to run the 40hp
Old 12-14-2018, 08:42 PM
NJFishing.com Member

thanks. That's what I was finding. Should have also mentioned I mainly fish for large and smallmouth bass.
Old 12-14-2018, 09:13 PM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbfishin11 View Post
thanks. That's what I was finding. Should have also mentioned I mainly fish for large and smallmouth bass.
If you're interested in River smallies check out the raritan river. Good smallmouth found all the way down till it hits saltwater which is around New Brunswick.
Old 12-15-2018, 08:02 AM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Check here for boating information for lakes and ponds:

https://www.state.nj.us/dep/fgw/fishplc.htm