NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Anyone try Tenkara? - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing Post all your fresh water topics on this board

Old 08-22-2017, 08:26 AM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Default Anyone try Tenkara?

Hey all! I wanted to get into some fly fishing because I've never done it before, but currently I don't have the time to learn all that goes into it. I stumbled upon tenkara randomly last night and it seems like a fun way to give fly fishing a shot without breaking the bank or spending hours learning the ins and outs of a fly rod.

Has anyone ever given tenkara a shot? I'd love to hear some stories. And if so, what's a good, cheap rod to start with? Any replies are much appreciated.

Tight lines!
Old 08-22-2017, 08:48 AM
NJFishing.com Member

Default Re: Anyone try Tenkara?

I know Patagonia sells afordable tenkara kits .Its not my thing but i know its an effective was to present flies on small creeks and streams . Im sure its ideal for picking the pockets on small wild trout streams like Spruce Run Creek , or even bigger water like Ken Lockwood Gorge .Tenkara has a huge following im sure and internet search would be an over whelming amount of info
Old 08-22-2017, 08:49 AM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

From my beginner experience, you can really just use any rod. I have a spincasting rod attached to an old pflueger medalist reel since id rather carry around a lil rod than this 8 wt.

Maybe it's a good idea to buy a good reel and fly line then see if you want a dedicated fly rod later.
Old 08-22-2017, 11:36 AM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Quote:
Originally Posted by thmyorke1 View Post