NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Lake hopatcong - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing Post all your fresh water topics on this board

Old 02-07-2018, 01:28 PM
NJFishing.com Ambassador

Default Lake hopatcong

Hey newbie here on the ice. Was thinking of heading out with my 8 year old son on Sunday to drill some holes. Figure I'd leave from Dows. I know there's a contest, I don't think we are ready lol but if I get there at 11 will I be able to find a spot to fish? Any advice on which way to go or what to look for is appreciated.
Old 02-07-2018, 07:31 PM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Default Re: Lake hopatcong

Quote:
Originally Posted by cruiser1234 View Post
Hey newbie here on the ice. Was thinking of heading out with my 8 year old son on Sunday to drill some holes. Figure I'd leave from Dows. I know there's a contest, I don't think we are ready lol but if I get there at 11 will I be able to find a spot to fish? Any advice on which way to go or what to look for is appreciated.
You’ll find a spot no doubt. Just make sure you keep a safe distance from others, lol. Sunday’s weather is starting to look a little sketchy. Possibly a rainy weekend which just isn’t ideal conditions for ice fishing. I’m sure the ice is safe in most spots but there are spots near docks and banks that have open water. I’d try somewhere smaller or where there are other anglers present. But again, keep your eye on the weather. Good luck and be safe!!! Let us know how you do if you get out!
Old 02-08-2018, 03:41 PM
NJFishing.com Ambassador