NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Boating at Night - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Boating
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Boating Use this board to discuss anything related to boats and boating in NJ

Old 10-11-2016, 11:15 AM
Owner NJFishing.com

Default Boating at Night

A few tips here since the days are getting shorter and many of us will be boating at night.

Boating safely at night requires a good deal of skill, confidence, knowledge and lights. It’s much more dangerous boating at night for several reasons but to go out with out lights or not knowing how to use them increases the potential for trouble….

Point in case, my brother and I have been boating at night for several years. We were out a few years ago and the red/green nav lights on the bow stopped working. I usually carry spares for this reason but didn't have any. We had the white front facing helm light on the hard top and the rear white stern light so we could at least be seen. But with out red and green nav lights it's hard to tell the orientation and the direction our boat was traveling. Someone in our marina was on his way home and passed by us. He thought we were anchored since we were not showing any red/green. As he approached he noticed we were underway and had to slow down as he approached us because he could not determine the direction we were traveling with out the aid of the red/green nav lights. He gave us a piece of his mind back at the dock, rightfully so. Next trip to the store I picked up spares.