NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Delaware river question - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing Post all your fresh water topics on this board

Old 08-01-2011, 09:33 PM
NJFishing.com Ambassador

Default Delaware river question

I'm going on one of those camping rafting trips on the delaware near Milford pa this weekend. I have little experience fishing rivers and I'm looking for tips on tackle/bait and types of fish.
Old 08-01-2011, 09:49 PM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Default Re: Delaware river question

Senkos for smallies in the morning and during the day. Cranks or stickbaits for walleye at dusk. Chicken livers or live bluegills for catfish at night. Live herring never hurt and nightcrawlers with catch a variety of panfish, catfish and smallies. Thee's a lot more that you can do, but there's a start. BTW, this time of year, unless it's after a big storm, I wet-wade and target the deeper pools and eddies behind big rocks. If you walk along the river throwing nightcrawlers in the holes and slack water, I can guarantee you that you will catch fish.
Old 08-02-2011, 05:46 AM
NJFishing.com Ambassador

The big D is VERY low right now. I don't see anything in the forecast that will raise it anytime soon. So, catfish's advice on the deeper pools is really the only way to go. To add to that, look for pools in the shade. When the river is this low and the sun is this hot, most of the fish will be in the shaded pools.
Old 08-02-2011, 07:35 AM
NJFishing.com Ambassador

If you can get Hellagramites you will constantly catch smallies. Best bait for the river but hard to get and a little pricey but well worth it.
Old 08-02-2011, 08:08 AM
Old Soft Salt