NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

How to catch more ling on a party boat. - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJ Fishing.com Fishing Tips
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJ Fishing.com Fishing Tips Share your tips on fishing here.

Old 07-30-2010, 01:29 PM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Default How to catch more ling on a party boat.

How to catch more ling on a party boat.

This is a post I did a while back. I modified it a bit and posted it again here after fishing on the Paramount for ling this past week. Since the ling fishing has been good, I thought it might be helpful. Good luck linging....

Many of the sponsors on this site like the Paramount, Gambler and Norma K III target ling and they are good at it. Let’s support them.

I am not an expert and open to any comments. If you have comments or questions feel free to ask.

Ling otherwise known as Red Hake have been on the comeback the past few years. I see more and more interest in the species with the decline or restrictions on other species such as Winter Flounder, Mackerel, Blackfish, and Cod. I have also noticed that many people have an interest in these tasty fish but are confused about the best way to catch, store, and cook them.
To that end I would like to provide some basic tips on the slightly underrated red hake. There are many sponsor boats that sail for them throughout the year. I have fished on most of the Party Boats that target them but my favorite are the 3-9 magic hour trips or the night ling trips 7-1am. While ling can be caught both day and night they seem to “come alive” after dark.

Tackle (rods reels)
Nothing fancy is required. I like to use or bring the following:

7ft med action rod rated for 25lb test and Penn 140 or 146 squidder or equal. I load it with 30-50lb braid.