NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

How to catch more Ling - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Best Of
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Best Of This board will be locked from posting and will be used to archive the best posts from the main board.

Old 11-06-2008, 02:14 PM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Default How to catch more Ling

How to catch more ling on a party boat.

Many of the sponsors on this site like the Jamaica II and Norma K III target ling and they are good at it. Let’s support them this winter!!

I am not an expert and open to any comments. If you have comments or questions feel free to ask.

Ling otherwise known as Red Hake have been on the comeback the past few years. I see more and more interest in the species with the decline or restrictions on other species such as Winter Flounder, Mackerel, Blackfish, and Cod. I have also noticed that many people have an interest in these tasty fish but are confused about the best way to catch, store, and cook them.
To that end I would like to provide some basic tips on the slightly underrated red hake. There are many sponsor boats that sail for them throughout the winter. I have fished on most of the Party Boats that target them but my favorite are the 3-9 magic hour trips. While ling can be caught both day and night they seem to “come alive” after dark.

Tackle (rods reels)
Nothing fancy is required. I like to use or bring the following:

7ft med action rod rated for 25lb test and Penn 140 or 146 squidder or equal. I load it with 30-50lb braid.
30lb snap at end of braid or 10ft or so of 30-50lb mono.

7ft med action rod for 30-50lb test and Penn Jigmaster 500 or equal. I load it with 50-65lb braid.
30lb snap at end of braid or 10ft or so of 30-50lb mono.

Rigs