NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Blackfish Jigging - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJ Fishing.com Fishing Tips
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJ Fishing.com Fishing Tips Share your tips on fishing here.

Old 09-29-2017, 05:18 PM
Owner NJFishing.com

Default Blackfish Jigging

Over the years I’ve seen it all…. Rigs out fishing jigs and jigs out fishing rigs. “Riggers” offended by “Jiggers” and “Jiggers” offended by “Riggers”. While I’m no expert on either subject, my philosophy on this is you can’t argue with success. I’m always up for trying new things and if “Jigging” or “Rigging” is working on any given day, that’s what I’m going with. That and it’s fun to mix things up every once and a while too…..

All that being said, I’m going to focus on Jigging here with 2 big caveats
- Your actual mileage might vary.. Conditions, how the fish are biting, time of year, skills, methods etc will all play in your success or failure.
- With rig fishing as we all know, it’s more about the Indian then the arrow. I’ve seen people fishing old Penn Squider reels and broomstick poles out fish guys with the latest and greatest outfits. With jig fishing it’s about both. The Indian and his skills make a difference but the gear or arrow he uses plays an equally important role… Unless you have the right gear, I don’t care how good a Blackfishermen you are, using the wrong gear is a big handicap.

So, let’s start out with the gear you’ll need…. This is a finesse type of fishing so think light and sensitive…. You need to be able to feel the jig make contact with the bottom and the tick bites. If not, you’ll be reeling up empty hooks all day long…