NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Tog Rod - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Bait and Tackle Talk
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Bait and Tackle Talk Use this board to talk about Bait and Tackle and see offers from our Bait and Tackle Sponsors

Old 10-10-2013, 07:03 AM
Owner NJFishing.com

Default Tog Rod

First of all lets not start a flaming rod war here. I know there are some very strong opinions so lets right now agree to disagree respectfully.

I'm no expert here and talked to a bunch of different people about this and would like to get other opinions... Seems there is no perfect rod and you might have to have 2 set ups depending on your style of fishing and how much weight you want or need to use.

Here is what I'm thinking....

- You want a rod that has good give in the tip but a good solid back bone. I say this for a few reasons... If the tip is too fast and you over react like me on hook sets you will pull the bait from the fish. You also want some give in the tip absorb the up and down of the seas since you want to keep your bait on the bottom and as motionless as possible. You want the rod to load up a bit slower for a good hookset but the backbone needs to be strong so once you have the fish on you can keep them out of the rocks. For this reason I'm thinking a glass rod might be best since most graphite rods don't have the give in the tip and they load up too fast, at least for me.

- Should be at least 7 feet long, maybe longer if you fish party boats. Longer rods allow you to keep your line away from the boat since you are usually fishing straight up and down. If on a party boat you need to compensate for the rails and much higher distance from the deck to the water, so that's why I say longer for party boats.