NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Boat Hull Wax - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Boating
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Boating Use this board to discuss anything related to boats and boating in NJ

Old 03-29-2010, 09:33 AM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Default Boat Hull Wax

Will be taking on the task of waxing the old man's hull for the spring preparation. I've never done this before and can't even begin to imagine what is involved. There are enough guys on here with their own boats who prob do it themselves...If anyone has the time to share product knowledge, technique and tools required I would be much appreciated. I tooled around on google for a bit but it was way overkill. Boat is a 305 Robalo with a BLACK hull. Any help or info much appreciated. Gerry if you have opne of those cheat sheets for Waxing Hulls now's the time to post it. Thanks again for any and all information.

Also if anyone has any product info for waxing aluminum pipes, all suggestions welcomed. I used the whole bottle last year when I did this and I threw it out like a dumbaZZ so I don't remember what I used, but I "DO" remember it being very good.
Supporter SSFFF
Founder & President FGGF
Old 03-29-2010, 10:07 AM
Site Sponsor

Default Re: Boat Hull Wax

As Mr. Myagi said, "Wax on, Wax off, Daniel-san" . Seriously I just use 3-M Fiberglass Conditioner and Wax, Dampen the hull section you are working on, apply the paste, let dry slightly, rub with another rag, and buff with orbital buffer. I put my crew of 3 on the hull and they were done in about an hour and a 1/2 on a 31 Rampage. It's a no brainer, don't be intimidated by it.
(609) 870- 4592
Old 03-29-2010, 10:12 AM

Ditto on the 3M cleaner /wax.

Good Stuff.
Old 03-29-2010, 10:44 AM
NJFishing.com Old Salt