NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Monksville is weedless!!! - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing Post all your fresh water topics on this board

Old 08-29-2019, 10:37 AM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Default Monksville is weedless!!!

Haven't been getting out much this summer but found a window of opportunity to get a few hours on Monksville last night. Launched the south ramp/dam side basin. There are NO weed beds left. I've been fishing that lake for 20+ years and weed beds have always been present in water less than 15ft. I hit 5 or 6 spots last night and there was nothing. The water had a strange emerald tint to it also. Not sure if its a result of the HAB from GWL, maybe some weed treatment is finding its way down to monks? Or maybe they treated Monks for some reason? I don't know whats going on up there but the place sucks even more now than it ever has!!!!

Gustard Wood
Tidewater 216

Last edited by ScowardNJ; 08-29-2019 at 11:15 AM..
Old 08-29-2019, 11:12 AM
Old Soft Salt

Default Re: Monksville is weedless!!!

In a related story I was out to my buddy's house on Penns Creek in central Pa. about 3 miles upstream from the confluence with the Suski. I have fished this spot at least 50 times and always caught something. Tossed Rapalas, jigs, spinners, live shiners, Night Crawlers and not one fish. Saw no fish, not even a Carp!
Water looked ok for this time of the year.
Fished with 2 other buddies for a total of 5 or so hours, early, late and at night....no one caught a thing.
Not even a dink SMB or Rock bass.

Time to take up golf.
Old 08-29-2019, 11:19 AM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilson View Post