NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Elizabeth River Microfishing - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing Post all your fresh water topics on this board

Old 08-13-2020, 09:09 AM
NJFishing.com Ambassador

Default Elizabeth River Microfishing

Back from 2010-2014 I was a student at Kean University. The Elizabeth River runs through a portion of the campus and I used to always stop and look down trying to find some fish. I remember seeing schools of what looked like killifish and then once in a while something a little bit bigger. Back then I was almost exclusively a saltwater guy so I never fished the river.

Fast-forward to 2020. I haven't lived in New Jersey since I moved out in 2014, but I still spend probably about a month each year visiting. During this trip back I finally decided to head to my old campus and fish the Elizabeth River.

I really had no idea what it was going to be like and from my online research it seemed like no one really fished it. I used some tiny hooks and pieces of nightcrawlers knowing that would give me the best chance of getting something. I instantly found a lot of micros swarming my bait, but couldn't hook up. Eventually my first fish came up, a tiny little pumpkinseed. What followed was about 4 hours of wading the river and coming up with mummichug after mummichug. I wasn't planning on microfishing all day, but sometimes you just have to take what the water gives you.