NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Manasquan River/Reservoir Trout? - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing Post all your fresh water topics on this board

Old 03-14-2018, 11:45 AM
NJFishing.com Member

Default Manasquan River/Reservoir Trout?

Does anyone fish the Manasquan River access areas in Howell/Farmingdale for trout? What about the Manasquan Reservoir itself? I just moved very close to what look like a few decent spots but I am new to freshwater fishing so if anyone has some tips I would appreciate them.

I know that they stock the river around here so I figure there must be something in there to catch. I see a few past posts that mention the river is pretty muddy up this far but it is close so I would still like to check it out. I also know that the reservoir gets pretty crowded so I’ll probably avoid that area most days.
Old 03-14-2018, 12:39 PM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Default Re: Manasquan River/Reservoir Trout?

The Manasquan River is characterized by steep, muddy banks and perpetually murky water. Even at its clearest it is far muddier than the average NJ trout stream. The state throws in quite a few trout, but you're usually limited to a handful of fishable stretches making for sometimes crowded conditions. I gave up on that river a few years ago.

I believe the reservoir was stocked with trout several years ago, but not for a while. Shoreline access is very limited, and you really do need a boat to fish it effectively. There are some big fish in there though: smallmouth and largemouth, hybrids, and tiger muskies.
Cause on a day like today there's one place I gotta be:
GONE FISHIN'

Fishing with LardAlmighty on YouTube