NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Fall striped bass gear - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Bait and Tackle Talk
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

NJFishing.com Bait and Tackle Talk Use this board to talk about Bait and Tackle and see offers from our Bait and Tackle Sponsors

Old 09-23-2013, 01:01 PM
NJFishing.com Regular

Default Fall striped bass gear

This is my first year owning a boat. I must say its an awesome feeling. I'm starting to prepare for the fall bass run and would like to know what I should have on my boat as far as tackle. From rod and reels to lures. I want to try trolling as well. I don't need the most expensive but I don't want junk either. Thanks for the pointers guys in advance.
Old 09-29-2013, 01:41 PM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Default Re: Fall striped bass gear

The last few falls the bass have been feeding mainly on sand eels. The best way to get them when they are feeding on sand eels is using diamond jigs or lures like RonZ.

As far as rods and reels go, I am having a special on Seeker Inshore Lites. These are a great inshore rod that are ideal for jigging bass, as well as fishing for sea bass, blackfish and fluke. Normally they start at $325 but until the end of the month they are just $275.

As far as reels there are many solid choices out there. Daiwa saltist, shimano torium, avet six, mx are all good performers and will handle any bass out there. Fishing the private boat I prefer to use braided line. 30# is fine for bass but if you want to use the outfit for bottom fishing as well I would go with 50#.
Old 09-30-2013, 08:27 AM
NJFishing.com Ambassador

Default Re: Fall striped bass gear

You will have 100 different answers here and none of them are going to be wrong!